It all began in 1750 as a result of the marriage between Mr. and Mrs. Lanera and Mr. and Mrs. Barberio. The couple, in fact, had a large villa built to which they gave the name "Casina Barberio."
This structure with an adjoining consecrated little church became the property of the family of architect-engineer Michele Sgobba in the mid-19th century. The architect restored the villa, imprinting on it his "reform project," with adherence to a trend of neoclassical taste in Art Nouveau style. Not only that, he moved the small church outside, dedicating it to St. Michael the Archangel.
Later, the structure was inherited by Anna Maria Dell'Erba, adopted daughter of the Sgobba family, who turned it into her summer residence. From 1997 to 2001, the mansion was totally renovated by the new owners, Mr. and Mrs. Di Gioia, who turned it into an accommodation facility. From 2019 to today, the mansion takes the name "Tenuta Barberio". It, thanks to an accurate and continuous restyling, is enriched with new environments to satisfy the tastes and desires of its guests. A fairytale location, immersed in the lush greenery of the Mediterranean maquis, it perfectly combines the past and the present with refined elegance, making every special occasion exclusive.